Sprinkler Systems Uhaul move Lawn care Roses and trees Ford Parts Chrysler Parts Lake Powell New IPod Touch Apps New IPhone Apps IPhone Apps IPad Information IPad Apps Android APPS Android Games APPS Android Systems Android Tablets APPS and Beyond Smartphone Apps Smartphone Games Apps Repair and Tools Tablet PC Car Sharing Car Leasing Tabler Pc Fly Fishing Toyota Cars Vacation Rentals Stock market NYSE SSE Stock Freight & Shipping News Gluten Lactose Gout My Coupon Life Campgrounds Check Outdoor Kitchen Design and Redoo Bath Remodeling Palm Springs Las Vegas Vacation Tipps Lake Powell Boating Homes for lease Electric and green Car Blog Pearls and diamonds Whatsapp and forget SMS Blog, What is Whatsapp App Solar Panel Solar Energie Sun Power Blog
Fantasy » alt.fan.pratchett » Re: [I]_Sorry
Re: [I]_Sorry [message #250280] Di, 04 April 2006 08:25
Gideon Hallett  
"Aggie" <aggieangst [at] yourway.invalid> wrote in
news:jalYf.2776$i41.1464 [at] newsread1.news.atl.earthlink.net:

>
> "Brian Howlett" <news-spamtrap [at] brianhowlett.me.uk> wrote in
> message news:2fbb1d0f4e.Brian [at] brianhowlett.me.uk...
>> On 29 Mar, Aggie wrote:
>>
<snip>
>> So you're quite happy to have all your spam sent to the
>> owners of the domain?
>>
>> Domain Name: YOURWAY.COM
<snip>
>> Updated Date: 13-dec-2005
>> Creation Date: 01-may-2000
>> Expiration Date: 01-may-2006
>>
>> This whole rant has been done several times, so I won't
>> repeat it here. There are better ways of disguising your
>> email address than hijacking a valid domain, which involve
>> the use of ".invalid"... --
>> Brian Howlett - Email to From: address deleted unseen

<snip>

> yourway.com is not a valid domain to the best of my knowledge.

As Brian's WHOIS search above shows, it is a valid domain.

gmh [at] ns1:~> /usr/sbin/sendmail -bv aggieangst [at] yourway.com
aggieangst [at] yourway.com... deliverable: mailer esmtp, host
yourway.com., user aggieangst [at] yourway.com

gmh [at] ns1:~> host yourway.com
yourway.com has address 66.116.109.62

Fortunately, it doesn't appear to be running an SMTP server;

gmh [at] ns1:~> telnet 66.116.109.62 25
Trying 66.116.109.62...

However, your choice of spamtrap is causing an innocent third
party to receive an estimate of about 10 inbound spams per week -
multiplied by the number of years you've been using that
spamtrap.

If you read your ISP's Acceptable Use Policy, you will probably
find that causing someone to receive spam - even by proxy - is a
suspendable offence.

Out of interest, the last time this happened on AFP, I registered
the domain concerned. The person concerned was only on AFP for a
couple of weeks - yet I am still getting spam to that spamtrap
some 9 months later.

In other words; don't do it. You're causing others to get your
junk, and you're putting your own access in jeopardy as a result.

If you use the munge I changed your address to at the top, you
should be OK.

Gideon.
Re: [I]_Sorry [message #250329 ] Di, 04 April 2006 13:40
Aggie  
"Gideon Hallett" <diogenes [at] freeuk.com> wrote in message
news:Xns979B4AAA5EA8diogenesfreeukcom [at] 194.117.143.37...
> "Aggie" <aggieangst [at] yourway.invalid> wrote in
> news:jalYf.2776$i41.1464 [at] newsread1.news.atl.earthlink.net:
>
>>
>> "Brian Howlett" <news-spamtrap [at] brianhowlett.me.uk> wrote in
>> message news:2fbb1d0f4e.Brian [at] brianhowlett.me.uk...
>>> On 29 Mar, Aggie wrote:
>>>
> <snip>
>>> So you're quite happy to have all your spam sent to the
>>> owners of the domain?
>>>
>>> Domain Name: YOURWAY.COM
> <snip>
>>> Updated Date: 13-dec-2005
>>> Creation Date: 01-may-2000
>>> Expiration Date: 01-may-2006
>>>
>>> This whole rant has been done several times, so I won't
>>> repeat it here. There are better ways of disguising your
>>> email address than hijacking a valid domain, which involve
>>> the use of ".invalid"... --
>>> Brian Howlett - Email to From: address deleted unseen
>
> <snip>
>
>> yourway.com is not a valid domain to the best of my knowledge.
>
> As Brian's WHOIS search above shows, it is a valid domain.
>
> gmh [at] ns1:~> /usr/sbin/sendmail -bv aggieangst [at] yourway.com
> aggieangst [at] yourway.com... deliverable: mailer esmtp, host
> yourway.com., user aggieangst [at] yourway.com
>
> gmh [at] ns1:~> host yourway.com
> yourway.com has address 66.116.109.62
>
> Fortunately, it doesn't appear to be running an SMTP server;
>
> gmh [at] ns1:~> telnet 66.116.109.62 25
> Trying 66.116.109.62...
>
> However, your choice of spamtrap is causing an innocent third
> party to receive an estimate of about 10 inbound spams per week -
> multiplied by the number of years you've been using that
> spamtrap.
>
> If you read your ISP's Acceptable Use Policy, you will probably
> find that causing someone to receive spam - even by proxy - is a
> suspendable offence.
>
> Out of interest, the last time this happened on AFP, I registered
> the domain concerned. The person concerned was only on AFP for a
> couple of weeks - yet I am still getting spam to that spamtrap
> some 9 months later.
>
> In other words; don't do it. You're causing others to get your
> junk, and you're putting your own access in jeopardy as a result.
>
> If you use the munge I changed your address to at the top, you
> should be OK.
>
> Gideon.

Thank you so much for explaining that to me. I didn't understand that at
all. I will fix it right away. I wouldn't cause anybody else spam for
money.
:)
Aggie
Vorheriges Thema:Re: [I] Snakes // was Absolutely and irrecovably /I/
Nächstes Thema:Re: [I] Elephant baby born
Gehe zu:
  


aktuelle Zeit: Sa Mai 26 02:09:02 CEST 2012

Insgesamt benötigte Zeit, um die Seite zu erzeugen: 0,08308 Sekunden
.:: Startseite - Hinweise - Impressum ::.

Powered